darkartscat.diaryland.com
Where Cat is, the weather is:
The WeatherPixie


Grrr...stupid counter reset itself!! >>_<<

















Prisoner of Azkaban movie:

2002-09-11 - 11:58 p.m.


Today was a very long day indeed. I woke up about the same time that the first of the WTC towers was hit exactly one year ago.

As I got to the T (the MBTA, the trains, sometimes buses), I realized that everyone was extremely quiet. It was as though nobody even wanted to talk until well past noontime. Not a soul was speaking. The only noise was made by the trains, squeaking and scraping along on its track.

I got my cavity-infected tooth filled today. First cavity ever. Got the white filling. My mouth was very numb for a long time after. Several hours, in fact.

When I was done, I boarded the T again. Now, since it was almost 1pm, people were talking a little.

When I got to Medford Square, I was a bit early for my psych. appointment. Went into a bookstore, lead in by the cute description they had of the Harry Potter books (lying, cheating, and stealing is cute and cool!), and got one of the books I've been trying to get a hold of: Artemis Fowl. It looks really cute. So far, Artemis reminds me of Malcolm Addams, one of the roleplaying characters my ex and I used together for many years. A young, ingenius rich boy, who does evil. Very nice! ^-^

Course, I feel almost guilty, since I bought two other books recently, and they lay there, only a few pages read through so far.

I'm very, very tired right now, so I'm going to try and finish up quick.

Babysat Gina tonight. We ended up walking to Target. Got a cute blue plaid schoolgirl skirt, a black shirt with red print that had a small sillhouette of a witch on her broomstick, and the word "WICKED." Couldn't pass it up for $5.

Target kicks ass. Except for the fact that their juniors clothes run tiny. That sucks.

Today was extremely, extremely windy. There were weather warnings and advisories, saying that until 5 am tomorrow morning, the wind may get as strong as 25-50 MPH.

I was watching the news, or rather, flipping through channels, after Gina was (so-called) asleep, and I heard that people were saying the wind today was as though God was allowing the souls of the 3,000 people that died last year finally show their presence, and touch their loved ones, and the country. It was really beautiful.

Today really is a day that will live in infamy.

But next year, I bet nobody will even care as much.

...okay, that was rather bitter of me. The families and friends that suffered a loss will care. They'll always remember, every day. And I don't think there's a day that goes by, these days, that any of us aren't reminded of that fateful day.

I hear young children talk of the events, and their laughing and playfulness stop, and they take on the seriousness of conversation that adults have when discussing politics. It's so sad...

But like I described to Gina...

"What happened between the countries, that made the September 11th stuff happen, was much like what happens in school, when you have people calling each other names, saying mean stuff, and telling each other and spreading around lies. Except that this isn't between two kids, it's between adults, and between two countries, which are much bigger than just two kids...and the words are much meaner, and so are the actions. No, America is not innocent. Don't ever think that. America didn't deserve what it got, but that doesn't by any means mean that America is innocent. American adults in the government did some things that were bad to other countries, too...nobody's innocent that's involved in this.

"But it's up to us, to everyone under 20 or so...because we were innocent. We did nothing to deserve this. It was the adults that make the laws and everything that were involved, and that were at fault. The adults are counting on us...it's up to us, as the young people of the world, to make sure we're nice to one another. We can't go around making fun of each other, and spreading rumors and lies and hate. We need to just be nice to everyone, and then maybe, when we all run the world, when the older people are gone and we take over, then maybe we'll not fight so much, and be able to do everything right. We need to make it so we're innocent. If only everyone would just be nice to everyone else...you need to make sure to be nice, and not be mean..."

previous - next

Add your comments about today's entry!

Sign
Time for change! - 2004-02-04
Pay It Forward - 2003-08-10
CATS! - 2003-07-25
Happy 4th! - 2003-07-04
In Sirius Denial - 2003-07-01






by MagicalObizuthby MagicalObizuthby MagicalObizuthby MagicalObizuthby MagicalObizuthby MagicalObizuthby MagicalObizuthby MagicalObizuthby MagicalObizuthby MagicalObizuthby MagicalObizuth